The owner of a brokerage firm was sentenced to 6 years in prison for defrauding his clients of $7 million

0 425

The owner of a brokerage firm was sentenced to 6 years in prison for defrauding his clients of $7 million

The owner of forex brokers Forex (NZ) Limited and Forex NZ 2000 Limited in Auckland was today sentenced to 6 years and 3 months in prison and a minimum of 2 years and 11 months in prison. Kelvin Clive Wood, who previously invested up to $200 million, implemented a Ponzi scheme and cheated his clients out of $7 million.

Wood is sued by the SFO over the Ponzi scheme he ran between 2010 and 2017, when his forex brokerage firms began experiencing losses in their net trading.

A Ponzi scheme is a scam that promises high returns to investors, but these returns are paid to old investors through revenue paid by new investors. That's what Wood did, using the new investors' money to pay other investors or return the investment capital. Of course, none of Wood's clients were aware of their money being used to pay off other investors.

Forex NZ Ltd and Forex NZ 2000 Ltd are the trading names of Wood's forex brokerage, in which Wood's son “Adam” was serving as a manager and shareholder until 2015.

Yesterday, the court heard that about $22.5 million was invested with Wood over the course of seven years. With over $7 million lost out of the investment belonging to at least 18 investors.

Wood's clients have invested money with him in fixed-interest deposits, forex trading, and general investment. All investors' identities have been permanently withheld by Judge Ronen, but he said three victims suffered losses in excess of $1 million - only one of whom lost $1.7 million.

SFO Attorney General Annabelle Maxwell Scott said Wood filed about 223 false investment reports and continued his "face-saving" scams while "the lives around him were slowly being destroyed."

Wood's attorney, Shane Tate, said his client was considered a highly successful financial investor who handled amounts of up to $200 million for his clients.

From 2008 onwards, Judge Ronen said Wood knew he could not repay his investors and quickly became dependent on new money to pay off interest and debt. Wood, who was declared bankrupt, continued to file false trading earnings reports to prevent investors from withdrawing their money. He knew from the start that a Ponzi scheme was going to be discovered but he kept stealing his clients' money.

In 2017, Wood voluntarily approached the Financial Markets Authority (FMA) to admit defrauding his clients. He told the FMA, which referred the case to the SFO, that he believed about 20 clients owed about $8 million in venture capital.

The court also heard that Wood previously worked in the banking sector, describing himself as "ASB's youngest director" earlier in his career. He also said that he developed an "extreme arrogance" that he was not aware of prior to his arrest.

SFO's acting general manager, Rajesh Chana, said in a statement following the ruling that Wood had earned the trust of a group of investors through his personal and professional association with them. And his breach of that trust is reflected in the ruling that was imposed today.

The case against Wood is part of several scams in the forex market that have been prosecuted by the SFO. Just yesterday, Russell Maher, the 52-year-old owner of the collapsed brokerage firm Forex Brokers Ltd, pleaded guilty to 47 counts of fraud. Maher will be sentenced in September.

Also last July, Lance Jack Ryan was jailed for seven years and six months after being found guilty of fraud related to the BlackfortFX forex platform. Jimmy McNishul's partner, was sentenced to 11 months in prison and ordered to pay $50,000 in damages. The two used BlackfortFX to convince more than 900 investors, mostly from the Christchurch area, to invest about $8.3 million in a Ponzi scheme.

ForexArby.com has no relation whatsoever with Metaquote and we have no responsibility regarding their products offered by our Sponsors.

Seize the chance to earn real money instantly!
Take 4 simple steps along the path to success and financial independence
1
Open a trading account
Beginner traders can start their career in forex Practice on a demo account
2
Download - Powerful, reliable and proven trading platform
System requirements: Windows 7 and later versions
platform for Android
System requirements: Android 4.0 and above, 3G/WiFi
platform Ctrade for iOS
System requirements: iOS 4.0 or later, 3G/Wifi
3
Deposit to your trading account through any convenient payment system
4
Great bonuses guarantee your confident start in trading
Bonuses are added ranging in size From 20% to 50% to your account every time you make a deposit
Related topics
guest
0 comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
enEnglish

fbpx

الحكم علي مالك شركة وساطة بالسجن 6 سنوات لإحتيالة علي عملائه في 7 مليون دولار

0 350

احصل على تنبيهات فورية مباشرة على جهازك عند نشر مقاله جديدة!

VJC656HOEJFDHOORR7E5JVU27A - الحكم علي مالك شركة وساطة بالسجن 6 سنوات لإحتيالة علي عملائه في 7 مليون دولار

تم الحكم اليوم علي مالك شركتي وساطة العملات الأجنبية Forex (NZ) Limited  و Forex NZ 2000 Limited في أوكلاند بالسجن بالسجن لمدة 6 سنوات و 3 أشهر وبحد أدنى سنتين و 11 شهرًا. كلفن كلايف وود الذي كان يستثمر في السابق مبالغ تصل إلى 200 مليون دولار قام بتنفيذ مخطط بونزي وخداع عملائه في 7 ملايين دولار.

قام مكتب SFO بمقاضاة وود بسبب مخطط بونزي الذي كان يديره بين عامين 2010 و 2017 وذلك عندما بدأت شركاته الخاصة بوساطة التداول في العملات الأجنبية تعاني من الخسائر في صافي تجارتها.

مخطط بونزي هو عملية احتيال تعد بعوائد عالية للمستثمرين ، ولكن يتم دفع هذه العوائد للمستثمرين القداما من خلال الإيرادات التي يدفعها المستثمرون الجدد. وذلك ما قام به وود حيث استخدم أموال المستثمرين الجدد لدفع مستحقات المستثمرين الآخرين أو رد رأس المال الاستثماري. وبالطبع ، لم يكن أي من عملاء وود على دراية باستخدام أموالهم لسداد اموال مستثمرين آخرين.

Forex NZ Ltd و Forex NZ 2000 Ltd هما الاسمان التجاريان لشركة وساطة وود في تداول العملات الأجنبية ، والتي كان يعمل فيها ابن وود “آدم” كمدير ومساهم حتى عام 2015.

واستمعت المحكمة البارحة إلى أن نحو 22.5 مليون دولار تم استثمارها مع وود على مدار سبع سنوات. مع أكثر من 7 ملايين دولار تم خسارتهم من أصل الاستثمار تنتمي إلى ما لا يقل عن 18 مستثمرا.

استثمر عملاء وود المال معه في الودائع ذات الفوائد الثابتة ، وتداول العملات الأجنبية ، والاستثمار العام. تم حجب جميع هويات المستثمرين بشكل دائم من قبل القاضي رونين ، لكنه قال إن ثلاث ضحايا عانوا من خسائر تتجاوز مليون دولار – واحدة منهم فقط خسرت 1.7 مليون دولار.

وقال المدعي العام في منظمة SFO ، أنابيل ماكسويل سكوت ، إن وود قدم حوالي 223 تقرير استثمار كاذب واستمر في عمليات الاحتيال التي قام بها “لإنقاذ ماء الوجه” بينما كانت “الأرواح المحيطة به تتدمر ببطء”.

قال محامي وود شين تايت إن موكله كان يعتبر مستثمرًا ماليًا ناجحًا للغاية تعامل مع مبالغ تصل إلى 200 مليون دولار لعملائه.

وقال القاضي رونين ابتداء من عام 2008 فصاعدا ، كان وود يعلم أنه لا يستطيع سداد مستثمريه وسرعان ما أصبح يعتمد على أموال جديدة لسداد الفوائد والديون.و إن وود ، الذي أُعلن إفلاسه ، واصل تقديم تقارير زائفة عن أرباح التداول لمنع المستثمرين من سحب أموالهم. وكان يعلم من البداية أن مخطط بونزي كان سيتم اكتشافة لكنه استمر في سرقة أموال عملائه.

في عام 2017 ، توجه وود طوعًا إلى هيئة الأسواق المالية (FMA) للاعتراف باحتياله علي عملائة. وقال لـ FMA ، التي أحالت القضية إلى SFO ، إنه يعتقد أن حوالي 20 عميلًا مدينون بحوالي 8 ملايين دولار من رأس المال الاستثماري.

استمعت المحكمة أيضًا إلى أن وود كان يعمل سابقًا في القطاع المصرفي ، حيث وصف نفسه بأنه “أصغر مدير في ASB” في وقت سابق من حياته المهنية. وقال أيضًا إنه طور “غرورا متطرفا” الذي لم يكن على علم به قبل اعتقاله.

وقالت القائمة بأعمال المدير العام لـ SFO ، راجيش شانا ، في بيان بعد إصدار الحكم إن وود كسب ثقة مجموعة من المستثمرين من خلال ارتباطه الشخصي والمهني معهم. وإن خرقه لتلك الثقة ينعكس في الحكم الذي تم فرضة اليوم.

تعتبر القضية المرفوعة ضد وود جزءًا من العديد من عمليات الاحتيال في سوق الفوركس التي تمت مقاضاتها من قِبل SFO. بالأمس فقط ، أقر راسل ماهر ، 52 عامًا مالك شركة الوساطة Forex Brokers Ltd التي انهارت أعمالها بأنه مذنب في 47 تهمة احتيال. وسيتم الحكم على ماهر في سبتمبر المقبل.

أيضا في يوليو الماضي ، تم سجن لانس جاك ريان لمدة سبع سنوات وستة أشهر بعد إدانته بتهم الاحتيال المتعلقة بمنصة الفوركس BlackfortFX. وحُكم على شريكة جيمي ماكنيشول ، بالسجن لمدة 11 شهرًا وأُمر بدفع 50 ألف دولار كتعويضات. استخدم الاثنين BlackfortFX لإقناع أكثر من 900 مستثمر ، معظمهم من منطقة كرايستشيرش ، باستثمار حوالي 8.3 مليون دولار في مخطط بونزي.

مواضيع ذات صله
نبهني بجديد التعليقات
نبّهني عن
guest
0 تعليقات
التقيمات المضمنة
عرض جميع التعليقات

يستخدم موقع الويب هذا ملفات الكوكيز لتحسين تجربتك. الاستمرار في استخدام موقعنا الإلكتروني يشير إلى أنك توافق على هذه السياسة. موافق أقراء المزيد

قناة الفوركس بالعربي

يمكنك الان متابعتنا علي التليجرام

تواصل معنا
message
whatsapp
telegram
email